The Tribal Senate is composed of nine (9) members, elected from the two (2) Legislative Tribal Districts of the Tribe who are responsible with setting tribal policies, creating government programs and committed working towards self-determination. The Vice President of the Fernandeño Tataviam Band of Mission Indians serves as Chair of the Senate.

Steven Ortega

Chair of Senate, Vice President

Lucia Alfaro

Tribal Secretary

Jesus Alvarez

Tribal Senator

Richard Ortega

Tribal Senator

Mark Villaseñor

Tribal Senator

Raymond Salas

Tribal Senator

Standing Committees

  • Indian Child and Welfare Act Committee

    Responsible for overseeing heritage cases of Fernandeño Tataviam Indian children that fall under the Indian Child and Welfare Act.

  • Legislative Committee

    Responsible for the development of tribal laws relating to their Legislative authorities under the Constitution of the Fernandeño Tataviam.

  • Finance Committee

    Responsible for receiving, reviewing, and/or developing all proposed Legislation relating to the fiscal policy of the Fernandeño Tataviam. The Finance Committee shall ensure all branches, offices and departments are operating within approved fiscal policy.

  • Human Resources Committee

    Responsible for proposed legislation dealing with services to tribal citizens and employees of the Fernandeño Tataviam Tribe.

  • Land Development Committee

    Responsible for proposed legislation pertaining to the acquisition, leasing, disposition, and management of real property of the Fernandeño Tataviam.

  • Tribal Historic and Cultural Preservation Committee

    Responsible for proposed legislation pertaining to cultural resources environmental protection, historic preservation, the Tribal Historic and Cultural Preservation Department and related non-departmental issues. The Committee shall advise the Department on implementation of policy and procedures, including personnel, programming, management, maintaining professionalism with other agencies and mediation. With the permission of the Chair, the Committee may be composed of other persons, such as scholars and historians, but they shall not be allowed to vote on proposed legislation.

  • Education and Cultural Learning Committee

    Responsible for proposed Legislation pertaining to tribal education services, cultural learning activities and the Department.

  • Health Committee

    Responsible for proposed Legislation pertaining to tribal health care programs and services.